The CFA Institute Research Challenge is an annual global competition that provides university students with hands-on mentoring and intensive training in financial analysis. Students work in teams to research and analyse a publicly traded company.  Teams write a research report on their assigned company with a buy, sell, or hold recommendation and may be asked to present and defend their analysis to a panel of industry professionals.

The New Zealand competition of the 2018 Research Challenge is being held on 5 October.

The competing teams are:

  • Auckland University of Technology
  • Lincoln University
  • Massey University
  • University of Auckland
  • University of Canterbury
  • University of Otago
  • University of Waikato
  • Victoria University of Wellington


CFA Society New Zealand would like to extend our sincere thanks to the following people and organisations for their part in making the local Research Challenge a success:

  • The teams and their mentors
  • The judges
  • The organisation being analysed, this is Comvita for the 2018 competition
  • Kaplan Schweser for sponsorship
  • KPMG for hosting the event
  • James Boyle for his organisation and expertise, project managing the competition

Go Back